Academy Award Winning Pictures

“Best Picture” is considered the premier award of the Academy Awards, it is the final award presented at the ceremony. In 2009, AMPAS announced that the number of films to be nominated in the Best Picture award category would increase from five to ten, starting with the 82nd Academy Awards. Two years after this change, the Academy revised the rule again so that the number of films nominated was between 5 and 10.
Aslo the name underwent several changes over the years. Since 1962 it has been called the Best Picture award.

1927/28–1928/29: Academy Award for Outstanding Picture
1929/30–1940: Academy Award for Outstanding Production
1941–1943: Academy Award for Outstanding Motion Picture
1944–1961: Academy Award for Best Motion Picture
1962–present: Academy Award for Best Picture

As of 2017, there have been 537 films nominated for Best Picture and 89 winners.
The Complete List of ‘Best Picture’ Oscar winners till the 89th Academy Award (2017).

89th Academy Awards: Moon Light (2016)

88th Academy Awards: Spotlight (2015)

87th Academy Awards: Birdman (2014)

86th Academy Awards: 12 Years a Slave (2013)

85th Academy Awards: Argo (2012)

84th Academy Awards: The Artist (2011)

83rd Academy Awards: The King’s Speech (2010)

82nd Academy Awards: The Hurt Locker (2009)

81st Academy Awards: Slumdog Millionaire (2008)

80th Academy Awards: No Country for Old Men (2007)

79th Academy Awards: The Departed (2006)

78th Academy Awards: Crash (2005)

77th Academy Awards: Million Dollar Baby (2004)

76th Academy Awards: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

75th Academy Awards: Chicago (2002)

74th Academy Awards: A Beautiful Mind (2001)

73rd Academy Awards: Gladiator (2000)

72nd Academy Awards: American Beauty (1999)

71st Academy Awards: Shakespeare in Love (1998)

70th Academy Awards: Titanic (1997)

69th Academy Awards: The English Patient (1996)

68th Academy Awards: Braveheart (1995)

67th Academy Awards: Forrest Gump (1994)

66th Academy Awards: Schindler’s List (1993)

65th Academy Awards: Unforgiven (1992)

64th Academy Awards: The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

63rd Academy Awards: Dances With Wolves (1990)

62nd Academy Awards: Driving Miss Daisy (1989)

61st Academy Awards: Rain Man (1988)

60th Academy Awards: The Last Emperor (1987)

59th Academy Awards: Platoon (1986)

58th Academy Awards: Out of Africa (1985)

57th Academy Awards: Amadeus (1984)

56th Academy Awards: Terms of Endearment (1983)

55th Academy Awards: Gandhi (1982)

54th Academy Awards: Chariots of Fire (1981)

53rd Academy Awards: Ordinary People (1980)

52nd Academy Awards: Kramer vs. Kramer (1979)

51st Academy Awards: The Deer Hunter (1978)

50th Academy Awards: Annie Hall (1977)

49th Academy Awards: Rocky (1976)

48th Academy Awards: One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)

47th Academy Awards: The Godfather Part II (1974)

46th Academy Awards: The Sting (1973)

45th Academy Awards: The Godfather (1972)

44th Academy Awards: The French Connection (1971)

43rd Academy Awards: Patton (1970)

42nd Academy Awards: Midnight Cowboy (1969)

41st Academy Awards: Oliver! (1968)

40th Academy Awards: In the Heat of the Night (1967)

39th Academy Awards: A Man for All Seasons (1966)

38th Academy Awards: The Sound of Music (1965)

37th Academy Awards: My Fair Lady (1964)

36th Academy Awards: Tom Jones (1963)

35th Academy Awards: Lawrence of Arabia (1962)

34th Academy Awards: West Side Story (1961)

33rd Academy Awards: The Apartment (1960)

32nd Academy Award: Ben-Hur (1959)

31st Academy Award: Gigi (1958)

30th Academy Award: The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957)

29th Academy Award: Around the World in 80 Days”(1956)

28th Academy Award: Marty (1955)

27th Academy Award: On the Waterfront (1954)

26th Academy Award: From Here to Eternity (1953)

25th Academy Award: The Greatest Show on Earth (1952)

24th Academy Award: An American in Paris (1951)

23rd Academy Award: All About Eve (1950)

22nd Academy Award: All the Kings Men (1949)

21st Academy Award: Hamlet (1948)

20th Academy Award: Gentleman’s Agreement (1947)

19th Academy Award: The Best Years of Our Lives (1946)

18th Academy Award: The Lost Weekend (1945)

17th Academy Award: Going My Way (1944)

16th Academy Award: Casablanca (1943)

15th Academy Award: Mrs. Miniver (1942)

14th Academy Award: How Green Was My Valley (1941)

13th Academy Award: Rebecca (1940)

12th Academy Award: Gone with the Wind (1939)

11th Academy Award: You Can’t Take It with You (1938)

10th Academy Award: The Life of Emile Zola (1937)

9th Academy Award: The Great Ziegfeld (1936)

8th Academy Award: Mutiny on the Bounty (1935)

7th Academy Award: It Happened One Night (1934)

6th Academy Award: Cavalcade (1933)

5th Academy Award: Grand Hotel (1932)

4th Academy Award: Cimarron (1931)

3rd Academy Award: All Quiet on the Western Front (1930)

2nd Academy Awards: The Broadway Melody (1929)

1st Academy Awards: Wings (1927)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s